“Stella’s” Got Her Groove Back?

I’ve had enough winter already!  If you’re with me and want a relaxing getaway with nice accommodations and a view that mirrors the Corona beer commercials?  Look no further than the adults only all inclusive Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall in Montego Bay, Jamaica.  The room was just lovely; the staff was delightful; and the atmosphere was just what I needed…relaxing and very pleasant.

I went to Jamaica to channel my inner “Stella”.  Now I didn’t meet “Winston”…but I did catch up on my leisure summer reading while sipping adult beverages under a straw hut on the beach! To all my people that enjoy a nice stiff drink, these were not hitting it.  My friends and I are almost positive that the alcohol was watered down or altered in some way. While our drinks had that rubbing alcohol taste, there was not so much as a hint of a buzz after we threw back a few! A fellow vacationer mused, “Is it supposed to hit you eight hours later?!”.  After day 2, I gave up on the Piña Coladas and drank pineapple juice instead…less calories, same effect.  Ha!

The food and the nightlife/entertainment were also a little sub-par.  On the bright side, I didn’t have to worry about bringing back extra lbs. along with my luggage.  Still, all in all, it was a great trip.  If you’re looking to get a little tipsy (or drunk) and party all night long, you might want to move on.  However, if you need to bring your shoulders down and just breathe, the Iberostar is the place for you.

–Kells

Leave a Reply

