Batter Up!

So after my aunt and uncle ranted and raved about Batter & Berries in Lincoln Park, I had to go check it out for myself.  First I should tell you that I’m a HUGE fan of mimosas at brunch, so I loved that they are a BYOB spot.  It seemed like everyone in the place stopped at the 7-Eleven down the street for champagne (hint hint :-)).

Ok, now let’s talk about the restaurant!  My friend Kelly and I went on a Sunday afternoon and there was a 35 minute wait for a table. Luckily, they have a community table where you can sit down immediately and order.  Since we were hongry–yes hongry…I had long passed hungry at this point–we opted to skip the wait and take a seat.

I can get with the community table concept. You can actually face the person you’re dining with instead of just sitting next to them like at a bar.  Plus, you can chat with other the diners  at the table (if you want to) and it’s not awkward at all..which makes it a great way to meet new people too!

I ordered the Chicken Stuffed Waffles with Chicken on top.  It was good, but there was waaay too much chicken for me.  I didn’t even touch the chicken breast on top.  Kelly ordered the French Toast Flight that included 4 varieties: blueberry, strawberry, caramel and vanilla crème.  Man I wish I had ordered that.  After one bite, she so graciously shared, I was in LOVE!  We eventually swapped plates and Kelly LOVED the chicken.

The customer service was awesome! At the end of our meal, the chef even came around to introduced himself and ask how the meal was.  The only problem I can find with Batter & Berries is that they don’t have any digital presence to help spread the word…no website or Twitter.

Come on Batter & Berries, we wanna help you hit a home run…get a website pronto!

472903_141012726022859_1814038904_o

384865_166332500157548_296181174_n

2 responses to “Batter Up!

  1. I found your critique refreshingly informative and entertaining… I was even drooling at the entree description and Batter & Berries will soon have the honor, of taking my money. Thank you for an awesome piece on a relevant eatery.

Leave a Reply

