Dancing in the Purple Rain…

This week, I went on a roller coaster ride of emotions about one of my favorite artist in life, Prince. Why you ask? Well, as most Chicagoans know Prince graced us with his presence for not just one but three nights in a row at the United Center! So you know I ran out to get tickets the day they went on sale…actually 2 days before when they were on pre-sale. Needless to say, I was PUMPED! This would be my very first Prince show and I’ve heard nothing but great things about his performances, so I’m too excited.

I hit up Monday night’s performance, and to say it left much to be desired is an understatement! Let’s see…where to start? The show started an hour and a half late. Prince’s “background singers” (Shelby Johnson in particular) were more like foreground singers, singing lead for nearly half the show. When Prince did sing it was rarely one of his own songs, and he barely touched a guitar. To add insult to injury, he had the nerve to abruptly stop the show! I’m thinking, “Where is Prince? That’s who I came to see!”

Side note: In Prince’s defense, he is the performer’s performer, and, musically, the show was awesome! But we didn’t just come to see an awesome music show, we came to see an awesome Prince music show.

It get’s better. After his swift exit from the stage many people were unsure if the concert was over or not as the crew swept the stage in the glow of its lights (oh yea…the stage was dope).  Finally, 45 minutes and half a crowd later, Prince magically comes back out riding a bike.  WTF?!  He did an encore performing 1999 and Little Red Corvette, but by this time I was too through.  Plus he still hadn’t sang my favorite song Adore.  I left the United Center highly disappointed.  Later I heard that Prince was booed that same night for not performing at the House of Blues when. fans paid nearly $90 to see him.  Can you imagine? Prince being booed?!

Night 2, Prince learned his lesson and tightened up ship.  At least that’s what I gathered from all the tweets, texts and Facebook postings saying how “phenomenal” the show was.  He sang a good majority of hits and did THREE encores (one with Chicago’s own Jennifer Hudson)!  Ok, so you can imagine how I feel.  On the one hand, I’m happy he redeemed himself from a piss poor performance the previous night, but I’m pissed that I didn’t get to experience it.

I bit the bullet and bought tickets for the last night (literally hours before the show), and, let me tell you, this performance was soooo much better than first night’s.  Still I didn’t feel like I was getting the second night’s performance but it was a lot closer to the Prince I was expecting to see the first time.  Prince came out belting his hits out one after another with high energy the entire time. Even the sound and lighting were better.  Janelle Monae opened the show with a solid performance.  Even Ledisi made a cameo and sounded amazing!

All-in-all, it was a good time and good show.  Prince redeemed himself and is still one of my faves of all time. His concert was not the best I’ve ever seen, but it made my Top 10.

Did you Welcome Prince 2 Chicago?  Tell me what you thought of the show…

Leave a Reply

