The Recipe for some truly good music

20120924-212141.jpg

Let me start by saying I am by no means an avid Kendrick Lamar fan. To be honest, I just got put on about two weeks ago by my little brother who schooled me after I kept talking about that song The Recipe getting heavy rotation on the radio. Then I really listened to the production on the song and immediately knew one of my absolute faves did the surgery on that cut, Dr. Dre. But the icing on the cake was when I was watching MTV Jamz and saw Kendrick singing “Swimming Pools (Drank)”…loves it. So now I’m saying to myself, “This guy is REALLY dope!”

Kendrick kinda reminds me of a West Coast Lupe Fiasco: socially conscious, but not as revolutionary. I support Lupe, but sometimes he squeezes the fun out music, brow beating you with a message. I like to hear a few party cuts on an album and Kendrick definitely gives that you!

Anyway, back to the story at hand. Last night I went to the BET Music Matters Tour at the Congress Theater at which Mr. Lamar headlined, and let me tell you his performance was awesome! So honest, full of energy and pure…just him and his DJ. No hype man. No posse. No costume changes. Just organic Hip-Hop…and that’s refreshing to see nowadays.

There were also special appearances by Chicago’s own Twista and Lupe Fiasco. I can’t say that I’m not disappointed that they didn’t spit a few rhymes. Hmm…The Recipe (Remix) featuring Twista? It’s a dope concept in my mind, but alas it didn’t happen. A girl can dream though…

All that to say Kendrick Lamar is definitely an artist you want to keep your eye on. Kendrick’s new album good kid, m.A.A.D. city hits stores on October 22nd. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

